Ruth Bowyer
3 October 2013

Technician of the Year 2013/14

The new academic year is nearly upon us and the Higher Education Academy are beginning it by launching the HEA STEM Technician of the Year Award.

University technical staff make a vital contribution to the success of their institution on many fronts, not least the teaching and learning experience. To recognise this, the Higher Education Academy offer the Technician of the Year Awards; a series of prestigious awards that celebrate the technician’s contribution to teaching and learning activities and to the wider HE student experience.

Awards will be presented at the HEA STEM Annual Conference 30 Apr 2014 - 1 May 2014 at the University of Edinburgh. The winners will receive £250 each of Amazon vouchers in recognition of their contribution to STEM education.

Nominations are welcome from technicians, academic staff, students and senior management.

The award's closing date is 1 February 2014

More information can be found here.

Last year's relevant winners from Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences was Teresa Needham (University of Nottingham).