Emma Fenton
26 June 2013

SocEnv awards new Honorary Fellows

The Society for the Environment awarded 12 new Honorary Fellowships at a reception at the House of Lords on 24th June. The Fellowships were awarded by SocEnv President Tony Juniper and the Chair Carolyn Roberts, who is also an IES Council member. Those awarded the fellowships were: Peter Ainsworth, Chairman of the wild flora charity Plantlife Pamela Castle OBE,chair of the National Centre for Biorenewable Energy Colin Drummond OBE, chief executive of leading waste management company, Viridor Peter Head CBE, an engineer sustainable and world leader in the development of sustainable cities Lord Michael Heseltine, former Deputy Prime Minister and First Secretary of State Sue Illman, President of the Landscape Institute Tony Juniper, Special Adviser to the Prince’s Charities International Sustainability Unit Richard Long, landscape sculptor with the Royal Academy of Art Nick Raynsford MP Sir Tim Smit, co-founder of the Eden Project Sir Crispin Tickell, diplomat, environmentalist and academic Lord Larry Whitty, previous Under Secretary of State for DEFRA Society for the Environment chief executive Alex Galloway said: “Our mission is to champion the role of environmental professionals, and to set standards for their recognition through the Chartered Environmentalist qualification. As we grow, it remains important to acknowledge and appreciate the work and contributions individuals have made and continue to make to the green sector. “Our 12 new honorary fellowships are people who have devoted a huge amount of time and energy to the environment over the years and the Society will be very pleased to call them Fellows.”